Bournemouth University Doctoral College supports prospective and current postgraduate research students across four Doctoral Schools from the research degree application stage through to the final Viva Voce examination and award conferment. Focusing on advancing knowledge we want you to leave BU with the information, skills and attributes you need to succeed in workplaces and research environments worldwide through a range of events and our extensive researcher development programme.

We have a vibrant and growing community of postgraduate researchers engaging in a wide variety of research and research degree programmes. Part of BU’s wider vision is the concept of fusion - what we learn through our research influences our curriculum and is passed on to industry through engagement with professional practice. Many of our projects involve postgraduate researchers and esteemed academics from different faculties working together and we place a lot of emphasis on developing processes, structures and learning spaces that make it easier to work together.

Learn more about the fascinating and impactful research our postgraduate researchers and academics are working on in our Research blog.

The Doctoral College Team

  • Dr Fiona Knight - Head of the Doctoral College (Lead for the Faculty of Health and Social Sciences and Faculty of Science and Technology)
  • Dr Julia Taylor – Head of the Doctoral College (Lead for the Bournemouth University Business School and Faculty of Media and Communication)
  • Natalie Stewart – Doctoral College Programme Manager
  • Deborah Smythe – Resources Administrator
  • Louise Bryant – Doctoral College Administration Manager
  • Denise George – PGR Administrator (Bournemouth University Business School)
  • Tina Ikin – PGR Administrator (Faculty of Health and Social Sciences)
  • Cansu Kurt Green – PGR Administrator (Faculty of Media and Communication)
  • Enrica Conrotto – PGR Administrator (Faculty of Media and Communication)
  • George Askwith – PGR Administrator (Faculty of Media and Communication)
  • Naomi Bailey – PGR Administrator (Faculty of Science and Technology)
  • Charlene Parrish  – PGR Administrator (Faculty of Science and Technology
  • Jamie Chadd – PGR Administrator – Admissions and Conferments (Bournemouth University Business School and Faculty of Media and Communication)
  • Suzy Kempinski-Webber – PGR Administrator – Admissions and Conferments (Faculty of Science and Technology) 

Contact us if you have any questions.