Skip to main content

Innovation and excellence

Prizes and awards

Our innovation and excellence is recognised through prizes that are awarded every year to our students and staff. Below are details about some of our recent award winners.

Sarah Pyke named ITT PhD Student of the Year 2016

Sarah's PhD, ‘A Systems Theory Approach to the Well-being Effects of Tourism’ was supported by the National Coastal Tourism Academy (NCTA) and was part of the ESRC Destination FeelGood project. It extends the forefront of the tourism discipline and makes a unique contribution to knowledge by using Hagerty’s systems theory approach (a model extracted from the public health sector and for the first time applied in a tourism context) to quantitatively measure the well-being effects of tourism on the individual. Sarah was awarded her prize at the House of Commons in July 2016.

Sarah Price named EUROCHRIE PhD Student of the Year 2016

Sarah's research, ‘Trust in Foodservice’ was supported by the EU project FoodSMART and identified key factors that consumers look for when selecting meals in workplace canteens. The project offered her the opportunity to be part of an International research team and take secondment periods in both France and Austria. Sarah was awarded her prize in Budapest in October 2016.

Dr John Fotis wins the PhD Thesis Excellence Award by IFITT at ENTER2016

This year BU eTourism Lab member Dr John Fotis won the award for his PhD thesis on “The use of social media on consumer behaviour” at the ENTER2016 conference in Bilbao, Spain. This prestigious event run by the International Federation for IT and Travel & Tourism (IFITT) recognises innovative destination marketing, tech-savvy companies and outstanding research contributions.

The Thesis Excellence Award is presented every year at the conference to a Master’s and a PhD thesis in the field of tourism and technology. For the 2016 award, the thesis needed to be successfully defended between October 1 2014 and September 30 2015. The selection is made by the ENTER PhD workshop committee.

Zornitza Yovcheva named ITT PhD Student of the Year 2015

Zornitza Yovcheva, a member of the BU eTourism Lab, received the Institute of Travel & Tourism (ITT) PhD Student of the Year Award in 2015. The annual ITT Student Awards recognise the travel industry’s talents. Zornitza received her award in recognition of her outstanding work on her PhD into how augmented reality applications could enhance tourists’ experiences.

Her PhD thesis supervisor Professor Dimitrios Buhalis said: “Zornitza’s research is cutting edge and I am glad her work is being recognised by the ITT. Augmented reality will change the way we consume tourism and will be instrumental in the co-creation of memorable tourism experiences”.

The ITT is the only professional membership body for those employed in the travel and tourism industry, and is dedicated to developing and maintaining high professional standards.The awards were presented by Lord Snape at the ITT Summer Party in the House of Commons.

Team of BU students win the Institute of Hospitality’s Passion4Hospitality game 2015

Five Bournemouth University (BU) students formed the winning team at the national student competition - Passion4Hospitality Business Management Game run by the Institute of Hospitality - for the second year running. 

The winning team were Harry Watts, Harry Champion, Molly Stephens, Ellen McCausland and Antony Iontton, all of whom are studying BA (Hons) Hospitality Management. Their prize was a day in industry from a partner organisation who will give them real life experience of what it is like working in the hospitality industry. 

Debra Adams, Head of Professional Development at arena4finance said: “We were very impressed by the commitment and level of achievement demonstrated by all the teams taking part at this year’s event. All the teams massively improved their key performance indicators for their virtual hotels resulting in a very close contest!”

Read more about their achievement.

International Hospitality Management student receives a Career Investment Development Scholarship from HOSPA

Final-year student Stephanie Banfield on the BA (Hons) International Hospitality Management course, was just one of seven recipients of the Hospitality Professionals Association (HOSPA) Career Investment Development Scholarships in 2015.

As part of the award she attended the HOSPACE 2015 Conference and Exhibition.

Oliver Constant wins 2015 Young Guns Hospitality Student of the Year Award

Oliver Constant was named the winner of the 2015 Young Guns Hospitality Student of the Year Awards! He was president of the BU Wine Society as well as a variety of other extra-curricular activities. The nationally recognised Young Guns award is  presented by the Council for Hospitality Management Education (CHME).

The final involved a challenging networking lunch and conversation with a panel of top professionals from the hospitality industry, including Tim West, Chairman of Lexington Catering; Jonathan Raggett, Managing Director of Red Carnation Hotels; Amanda Afiya, Editor at The Caterer; Peter Ducker, Chief Executive of the Institute of Hospitality and Jane Sunley, Chief Executive Officer and Founder of Purple Cubed.

Claire Rosslee wins TMI David Hughes Memorial Award 2014

The 2014 Tourism Management Institute David Hughes Memorial Award for outstanding student placement went to Claire Rosslee, a student on the BA (Hons) Tourism Management course. Claire was presented with her award at the TMI Digital Destinations Hot Topic event at Cheltenham Racecourse by TMI President, Neil McCollum and TMI Head of CPD, Paul Williams.

Paul Williams commented: “Claire’s placement with the official DMO for the English Riviera provided her with an excellent opportunity to gain valuable destination management and marketing insights to enhance her knowledge and understanding of the tourism industry gained as part of her degree course. The benefits of this practical industry experience were clearly evident throughout her reflective account and panel members were unanimous in judging her to be the overall winner of the David Hughes Memorial Award. In the light of the overall quality of the submission it is felt that this should be used as an example of good practice and guidance for other students in future.”  

Barbara Neuhoffer named ITT PhD Student of the Year 2013

Barbara Neuhofer was selected as the 2013 Institute of Travel and Tourism PhD Student of the Year by the ITT Education and Training Committee, recognising the progress she made in her PhD and her contribution to knowledge as evidenced through her publications and community service through IFITT.

The presentations of the awards took place during the ITT’s annual Chairman’s Summer Cocktails, in The Terrace Pavilion at The British Parliament at the House of Commons. The awards recognise the travel industry’s up-and-coming talent and illustrate the ITT’s on-going commitment to the collaboration of education and industry through a variety of initiatives. 

Dr Andrew Spencer named ITT PhD Student of the Year 2012

Dr Andrew Spencer was selected as the 2012 Institute of Travel and Tourism PhD Student of the Year by the ITT Education and Training Committee, for his PhD entitled "Technology Adoption Determinants: Strategic Management Implications for Small, Owner Managed Travel Firms in Jamaica".