Skip to main content

Department of Design & Engineering

Department of Design & Engineering Staff

Head of Department

  • Prof Philip Sewell – Design simulation and modelling, mechanics of materials, artificial intelligence and medical engineering.

Academic staff

  • Dr Amor Abdelkader – Material science, metallurgy, nanomaterials, self-healing materials, advanced materials.
  • Professor Alan Breen – Musculoskeletal research.
  • Dr Kyungjoo Cha – Lecturer in Product Design. Human-centred design.
  • Professor Venky Dubey – Mechanism and robotics, biomedical engineering, tactile sensing, medical instrumentation, virtual reality and design of medical devices.
  • Dr Mihai Dupac – Design simulation and modelling, nonlinear dynamics, mechanisms and mechanical vibrations, and biomechanics.
  • Dr Bryce Dyer – The philosophy, design or performance analysis of technology used in elite sport.
  • Dr Bob Eves – Creative design methods, design semiotics, aesthetics, and colour for design.
  • David Foot – Lecturer
  • Dr Nigel Garland – Sustainable technology
  • Dr Moamer Gashoot – Lecturer in Design Engineering.
  • Professor Mark Hadfield – Tribology and sustainable design
  • Dr Roya Haratian – Human-robot Interaction
  • Dr Yi Huang – Advanced manufacturing and material characterisation.
  • Dr Tania Humphries-Smith – Design Education, including aspects of curriculum design and assessment, and feedback.
  • Dr Clive Hunt – Education, particularly how student groups engage with learning and how strategy is implemented in historically dependent settings.
  • Dr Yong Hun Lim – Lecturer in Product Design. Specialising in design for inclusion and human-centred innovation.
  • Dr Doris Jung – Lecturer in Product Design
  • Dr Zulfiqar Khan – Tribology, surface engineering, structural integrity, renewable technology and nano-coatings.
  • Dr Mehran Koohgilani – Composite materials and neural networks
  • Dr Diogo Montalvao – Senior Lecturer in Engineering
  • Professor Siamak Noroozi – Biomedical engineering
  • Dr Adil Saeed – Material characterisation, engineering design, engineering analysis, sustainable development
  • Dr Sarah Palmer-Smith – Education, business and cultural issues. Expertise in aesthetics, CAD and visualisation.
  • John Powell – Lecturer 
  • Tim Reynolds – Design and emotion.
  • Theo Roe – Design that has ‘Brio’ (design that is alive with some aspect of truth, verity or art). All design has a physiognomy, an outward face. If inwardly design is insincere, its outward face bears witness to that.
  • Dr Adil Saeed – Lecturer in Engineering
  • Professor Kamran Tabeshfar – Emeritus Professor
  • Dr Ben Thomas – Sustainable design and engineering, including sustainable materials, tribology, and marine structures.
  • Russell Wade – Computer aided Design (CAD), 3D printing technologies and information technology


  • Paul Domoney – Mechanical Engineering
  • Nicholas Farwell – Engineering Design
  • Richard Glithro – Design Engineering
  • Gary Underwood – Prototyping, use of 3D printing in education
  • Adam Wright – Demonstrator


  • Abigail Bately – Technician in D&E Innovation Centre
  • Gemma Bullock – Technician in D&E Innovation Centre
  • Michael Day – Workshop Support Technician in D&E Innovation Centre
  • Robert Gardiner – D&E Innovation Centre Manager
  • Michael Hacon – Technician in D&E Innovation Centre
  • Will Lambert – Technician in D&E Innovation Centre
  • Paul Smart – Technician in Model Shop Innovation Centre
  • Peter Vivian – Mechanical Engineering Technician in D&E Innovation Centre
  • Keith Watson – Technician in D&E Innovation Centre